International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame Inducts 2018 Members

Cayman in the News 17 September 2018
The@International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (ISDHF)@last weekend inducted the 2018 class of new members at a gala celebration.

The International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (ISDHF) last weekend inducted the 2018 class of new members at a gala celebration. The new inductees include Stephen FrinkDick RutkowskiDr. H.S. BatunaWulf H. Koehler, and Boris Porotov, along with Early Pioneer Award honouree, Captain Philippe Tailliez, will join a prestigious roster of dive industry pioneers who have helped grow and elevate the sport of scuba diving.

Established by the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism in 2000, the ISDHF celebrates those who have contributed to the success and growth of recreational scuba diving worldwide through advancements in the areas of dive tourism, equipment design and innovation, education, exploration, adventure, and more.

“The Cayman Islands’ history with the sport of recreational diving runs deep and wide, making it a natural home to recognise the innovators and dive legacies who have helped shape and affirm our island trio into the leading scuba destination it is today,” said Hon. Minister of Tourism, Mr Moses Kirkconnell. “Year after year, the ISDHF inducts some of the world’s greatest dive leaders and we are proud to showcase their trailblazing efforts in carrying on the same passion of divers before them, while also enabling our guests to create unforgettable dive memories in the Cayman Islands.”

Also inducted were three LOCAL honorees for their contribution to the sport and the local community. Wayne HassonDaniel Tibbetts and Darryl Bud Walton Jr. were each recognized during the festivities.  “It is an honour every year to recognize the work of individuals who have had a tremendous positive impact on our local dive industry and by extension, placed the Cayman Islands at the forefront of diving globally,” Mr. Kirkconnell stated.  “This year I am particularly proud that a young Caymanian will be inducted as the first emerging honouree. I trust that this recognition will encourage more young people to join the sport and benefit from the wealth of experience available through local pioneers and prior honourees.”

About the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame

The International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame was founded in 2000 by the Ministry of Tourism of the Cayman Islands. Since the Cayman Islands is a leading pioneer in dive travel and is a premiere world destination for divers, it seemed only natural that the Cayman Islands should be home to a hall of fame honouring those people who have contributed the most to the sport of Scuba diving.

The mission of the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame is to honour those people who have helped to make the sport of Scuba diving possible, safer, more popular and more enjoyable. The annual induction ceremony takes place in the Cayman Islands every year during the annual induction ceremony.

We use Cookies on this website to improve functionality and performance, to analyse traffic to the website and to enable social media features. To learn more, please see our Cookie Notice for details